Woodpigeon – Release New Album “Thumbtacks And Glue” 25th Feb 2013


Calgary’s Woodpigeon (aka Mark Andrew Hamilton) has this afternoon announced he will release his fifth full-length album, ‘Thumbtacks & Glue’, on 25th February 2013. I have been lucky enough to see Mark play live once in my hometown of Stirling when he was supporting one of my favourite Scottish artists Withered Hand. I instantly fell in love with his song writing prowess, his ability to pen a witty song title and his endearing between song banter. On leaving the gig with his debut record Songbook clutched in my grubby little hands, that night I eagerly gave it a first spin and by the time opening track  “Home As a Romanticized Concept Where Everyone Loves You Always and Forever” had washed over me I knew it was money well spent. By the time the album drew to a close with the brilliant double whammy of the sweeping heartbreaking instrumental “A Slight Return Home”  and “That Was Good But You Can Do Better/Closing Credits” I was totally sold on this Canadian treasure.

The first track to be taken from ‘Thumbtacks & Glue’ is the beautiful ‘Sufferin’ Suckatash’ which you can listen to below

Mark has also announced details of a London headline show at St Pancras Church on the 4th March 2013. Tickets are on-sale now from SeeTickets http://www.seetickets.com

While ‘Thumbtacks & Glue (released via Fierce Panda in UK & Boompa in US/ Canada) is Woodpigeon’s first proper full-length release since 2010 the past few years have been anything but quiet for Mark Andrew Hamilton with the release of the bonus full-length ‘Balladeer’ in 2010 and the tour-only full-length, ‘Diamonds’ coinciding with his North American tour supporting Patrick Wolf this September.

There have been multiple EPs and singles, a move from Calgary, Alberta to Vienna, Austria, tours of Europe with Junip and Andrew Bird, plus a slew of headlining and festival dates. The Observer declared Woodpigeon a “Best New Discovery” in June of this year, while Canada’s Post City Magazine called Hamilton’s September Toronto performance “awe-inspiring”, and the Saatchi Gallery awarded Woodpigeon the “New Talent Award” at their inaugural “Glittering Prizes” that month.

Woodpigeon continues to refine and expand upon his sound with ‘Thumbtacks & Glue’, recorded in Calgary, Alberta with producer Arran Fisher and mastered by Ryan Morey. Known for his stunning and heart-wrenching orchestral pop, ‘Thumbtacks & Glue’ shows off Hamilton at his most diverse, from ‘Children Should Be Seen And Not Heard’ crunching guitar and ‘As Read In The Pine Bluff Commercial’ pure pop to the delicacy of ‘Little Wings’ and the bitter sting of ‘Robin Song’. This is the sound of a songwriter just hitting his stride.

I’ve got a feeling Edinburgh could well have been recorded about his time spent in Scotland with Dan Willson (Withered Hand)

‘Thumbtacks & Glue’ tracklisting:

1. The Saddest Music In The World
2. Red Rover, Red Rover
3. As Read In The Pine Bluff Commercial
4. Children Should Be Seen And Not Heard
5. Little Wings
6. Sufferin’ Suckatash
7. Robin Song
8. Edinburgh
9. Hermit
10. Thumbtacks + Glue

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s