Willy Mason – To Release New Album “Carry On”

Willy Mason has announced the release of his much anticipated third studio album‘Carry On’ on December 3rd. It will be Willy’s first release on Fiction Records.

Coming in the wake of his critically acclaimed and gold certified début ‘Where The Humans Eat’ which included the now classic track ‘Oxygen’, and the progressive sound of his 2007 sophomore release ‘If The Ocean Gets Rough’, ‘Carry On’ has been five years in the making.

Decamping to his childhood home in Martha’s Vineyard once the dust had settled on a busy period of touring the world and releasing two critically acclaimed records, Willy used his time at home as a means of re-rooting to his childhood community. With that came the creative freedom and inspiration to write the songs that now form ‘Carry On’.

Willy explains ‘‘I felt like I wanted, needed to get stuck in somewhere, to keep up with what was going on with the people my age.’’

Having been introduced to producer Dan Carey by a mutual friend, Willy headed to the altogether different climes of Streatham, South London to record what would become ‘Carry On’. Dan’s background was varied and brilliant, working with the likes of MIA, Hot Chip and Kylie Minogue, artists not immediately akin to the sound of Willy Mason. However Dan’s use of rhythm and bass along with the prospect of using drumboxes was something that intrigued Willy; he admits “It didn’t make sense to me, it scared me, but I was open to trying it.”

The resulting work is Mason’s most ambitious and fully realized work to date. Elements of dub and reggae infuse themselves seamlessly with guitar, low strings, and Mason’s inimitable gravel deep vocal to deliver songs awash with the sentiments of hope, disillusionment, love and lost connections.

“I think of this record as the third and final chapter to a particular narrative that started with Where the Humans Eat,” says Willy. “It’s a narrative that’s loosely based on me, on my character through performance, and I think that by completing this album, I’m sort of closing the door on that and opening up a whole new world of possibilities.”

Willy Mason has a string of UK dates in the coming months including headline shows in December, and support slots with Ben Howard. For more info and a free download of new track “Restless Fugitive” go to http://www.willymason.net

Read my review of his brilliant King Tuts gig here…………………



Supporting Ben Howard
2 Nov                The Dome, Brighton
3 Nov                Pavillions, Plymouth
4 Nov               Great Hall, Cardiff
5 Nov               Colston Hall, Bristol
7 Nov               Olympia, Dublin
9 Nov               The Waterfront, Belfast
10 Nov             O2 Academy, Glasgow
12 Nov             Apollo, Manchester
14 Nov             O2 Academy, Leeds
16 Nov             O2 Academy, Newcastle
17 Nov             Music Hall, Aberdeen
19 Nov              Corn Exchange, Cambridge
20 Nov              Engine Shed, Lincoln
21 Nov              O2 Academy, Leicester
22 Nov              Rock City, Nottingham
24 Nov              O2 Academy, Birmingham
25 Nov              O2 Academy, Bournemouth
26 Nov              Guild Hall, Southampton
28 Nov               Brixton Academy, London
29 Nov               Brixton Academy, London

Headline Shows

1 Dec                 King Tuts, Glasgow UK
2 Dec                 Ruby Lounge, Manchester UK
3 Dec                 Glee Club, Birmingham UK
4 Dec                 Thekla, Bristol UK
5 Dec                 Scala, London UK

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s